15 Artists Win Indigenous Music Awards in Categories From Rock to Hip Hop

Earlier tonight, 15 artists had the honour of hearing their names announced as winners of an Indigenous Music Award and walking across the stage to receive their award – a hand drum painted by Graffiti Gallery artists. Now, they can call themselves Indigenous Music Award winners. 

In between winner announcements, Crystal Shawanda, Northern Cree, Fred Penner, Mariame, Felipe Gomez, Christa Couture, and Chante Assiniboine and the Spirit Horse Singers moved the crowd with powerful performances.

Logan Staats took home Best Folk Album for his record, Goodbye Goldia, and his producer, Derek Miller, also took home an award for his work on the album.

Special guests include Dave Courchene, who kicked off the evening with an opening prayer. Member of Parliament for Charleswood, Doug Eyolfson, and Executive Director of the Waiata Maori Music Awards, Ellisor Huata, also joined us and presented awards this evening.

The award show, formerly the Aboriginal People Choice Awards, took a year off and re-branded itself as the Indigenous Music Awards. The awards now work on an industry voting system to further legitimize the selection process and give nominees the chance to get their music in front of industry professionals who might not have heard it otherwise.

This year, the Indigenous Music Awards welcomed new partnerships with SiriusXM Canada, Exclaim!, and Winnipeg Folk Festival. They joined long-time supporters Casinos of Winnipeg, APTN, and CBC Manitoba.

Best Rock Album
Kristi Lane Sinclair
Dark Matter

Best New Artist
presented by SiriusXM

Carsen Gray
Best Radio Single
presented by Indigenous Music Countdown

Black & Grey
Pretty Little Nightmare
Best Music Video
presented by Exclaim!

District Avenue
Best Producer/Engineer
Derek Miller
Thru The Red Door – Logan Staats/Goodbye Goldia
Best International Indigenous Release
The Imbayakunas
Imbaya Full Flavour
Best Radio Station
Unreserved: Radio Indigenous
CBC Radio One

Best Blues Album 
Cary Morin
Cradle to the Grave
Best Country Album
presented by Casinos of Winnipeg

Jade Turner
North Country
Best Folk Album
presented by Winnipeg Folk Festival

Logan Staats
Goodbye Goldia
Best Indigenous Language, or Francophone
Album presented by APTN

Rhonda Head
Best Instrumental Album
DJ Shub
Best Pop Album
presented by CBC Manitoba
Best Rap Hip Hop
Joey Stylez

Lifetime Achievement Award
Northern Cree

Awards for Best Peyote AlbumBest Pow Wow Contemporary AlbumBest Pow Wow Contemporary Album, and Best Pow Wow Traditional Album will be presented at the International Pow Wow presented by Casinos of Winnipeg after the evening Grand Entry, which starts at 7:00pm.

Presented annually by Manito Ahbee Festival, Indigenous Music Awards (formerly Aboriginal Peoples Choice Music Awards) is the world's premier awards show recognizing the accomplishments of Indigenous recording artists and music industry professionals from around the globe.

Manito Ahbee Festival celebrates Indigenous arts, culture, and music in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. The 12th annual festival is May 17-21, 2017 and features the Indigenous Music Awards, Indigenous Music Conference, International Pow Wow, Casinos of Winnipeg Indigenous Marketplace and Trade Show, Getting Jiggy With It, Art Expo, Art Challenge, and MTS Youth Education Day.

Dave Sherman